Rachel McLean Crowned Winner of the 2021 Kindle Storyteller Award

By Lauren Fruncillo October 25, 2021 - 11:55 am

Thriller author, Rachel McLean, has been selected as the winner of the 2021 Kindle Storyteller Award with her novel, The Corfe Castle Murders.

Following a record number of submissions, Rachel was crowned winner by celebrity judge and host Clare Balding at a virtual ceremony that took place in London.

Published during the height of the pandemic, the first book in Rachel’s Dorset Crime series is a compelling, character-driven mystery that shares the story of DCI Lesley Clarke, a straight-talking city copper who has been transferred to the supposedly calmer location of Dorset after being injured in a bomb attack. However, things don’t stay calm for long as Lesley is dragged into investigating a murder at one of England’s most iconic landmarks, Corfe Castle, and must hit the ground running to solve the murder before the killer strikes again.

In addition to the £20,000 prize money, Rachel will receive a marketing campaign to support the book on alongside the highly coveted Golden Kindle.

“I’m over the moon to have won! I was encouraged by friends to independently publish with KDP, and it was one of the best decisions I have ever made.

“The whole experience has been brilliant, and I want to thank Birmingham Writers Group, my editor, Joel Hames, and my wonderful readers for supporting me. It’s such an unexpected surprise!”
– Rachel McLean, 2021 Kindle Storyteller Award winner

The 2021 judging panel comprised of broadcaster and author Clare Balding, best-selling author Nicola May, 2020 Kindle Storyteller winner Anna McNuff, Sacha Black from the Alliance of Independent Authors, Former Minister of State for Digital and Culture and MP for Gosport Caroline Dinenage, Darren Hardy, Author and Editorial Programmes Manager at Amazon UK and Michaella Parkes from the Amazon Books Editorial Team.

The Kindle Storyteller Award is in its fifth year in the UK and was established to recognise newly published work in the English language across any genre. The Award was open to any work in the English language published on Kindle Direct Publishing between May 1st and August 31st, 2021.

Comments are closed.

Featured in this article from the Tamebay Guide – companies that can help you grow and manage your business.


Amazon started as online book store and has grown to be the worlds largest online retailer.

See More Companies >

Recent Comments

13 hours ago
Alan Paterson: @ r, not ridiculous if you are trying to make a point. I am just...
19 hours ago
Jonty: @Alan. Yes agree a very long post from r. But a truthful example of the ridiculous...
20 hours ago
r: we agree ,a ridiculously long post A simple copy and paste of ebays item specific list And...
22 hours ago
Alan Paterson: @r long post you make illustrating item specifics. i know what they are and why...