2019 Kindle Storyteller competition with £20k prize

By Chris Dawson March 13, 2019 - 5:15 pm

Are you a budding storyteller? If so then Kindle Storyteller competition has just launched with Amazon stumping up £20,000 as a prize for the best storyteller.

The Award aims to recognise outstanding work by independent authors with a £20,000 cash prize and this is the third year the competition has run. The award is open to all authors who publish their book through Kindle Direct Publishing on Amazon UK from the 1st of May 2019 to the 31st of August 2019. The shortlist will be compiled on the basis of a number of factors, including reviews, sales and pages read in Kindle Unlimited.

Hannah Lynn was the winner of the 2018 UK Kindle Storyteller Award for ‘The Afterlife of Walter Augustus‘ and in 2017 David Leadbeater won with his crime thriller ‘The Relic Hunters‘. As well as the cash prize, the winner also snags a marketing campaign to support the book on Amazon UK, and the opportunity to have their book translated for readers around the world. Since winning the Prize, David has sold more than 165,000 books, and Hannah has gone on to publish three further novels.

“Hearing my name called out last October for The Afterlife of Walter Augustus was incredible. To receive such recognition for only my second book was such a fantastic confidence boost that has made me all the more determined to keep writing. I wish the best of luck to the 2019 entrants and urge any writers who are on the fence to enter – you never know what might happen!”
– Hannah Lynn, winner of the 2018 UK Kindle Storyteller Award

The Kindle Storyteller competition will be open to submissions of new books in the English language, published using Kindle Direct Publishing. Titles must be previously unpublished, with a minimum of 24 pages in paperback. Readers can access all titles entered into the prize in print or on the Kindle store on any device with the free Kindle app for iPhone, iPad, Android phones and tablets, PC and Mac, and on Kindle e-readers and Fire Tablets.

The Kindle Storyteller Award 2019 opens for entries on 1st May 2019, and titles must be enrolled in KDP Select while they are in the competition, so if you’ve not started writing yet then you’ve got a couple of months to get a head start. As reviews are part of the short list criteria, the sooner you enter the greater your chance of winning.

“Following the enthusiasm and huge number of entries in 2018, we are delighted to bring the Kindle Storyteller Award back for its third year. The encouragement and support of aspiring authors is an endeavour we continue to champion at Amazon. Publishing a book has never been easier and we are proud to provide a service that allows for a breadth of diverse stories to be told.”
– Alessio Santarelli, Director, Kindle Content

Comments are closed.

Featured in this article from the Tamebay Guide – companies that can help you grow and manage your business.


Amazon started as online book store and has grown to be the worlds largest online retailer.

See More Companies >

Recent Comments

16 hours ago
Elvis: haha, how fitting lol....
16 hours ago
Bill Gates: It doesn’t look like the user interface has been redesigned since 2002 either. Is that...
17 hours ago
jim: and again, we dont give a hoot what ebay do as long as were...
21 hours ago
Dav: Really how many more schemes can eBay keep coming up with? They are far beyond...